Home About Us About Credit Unions Governmental Affairs Education Information Center Credit Union Services

Tennessee Credit Union Hall of Fame INDUCTEES





Tom Hilton

Former CEO

Y-12 FCU


M. Wayne Hope

Former CEO

Enrichment FCU


Tom Hilton and Wayne Hope Denley Hines, CEO Bowater Credit Union; Tom Hilton; Wayne Hope; Jeff Merry, CEO Vol Corp Credit Union; and Fred Robinson, CEO Tennessee Credit Union League




Jim Ward
Board Member
Ascend Federal CU

Janice Jones
United Southeast Federal CU

Alwin James “Rusty” Girdner
Retired President/CEO
Tennessee Credit Union League



With 44 years of service to the credit union movement, Ms. Sara Broxterman personifies the credit union philosophy of “People Helping People.” Her credit union career began at Navy Memphis Credit Union in 1960 working as a clerk making $0.50 per hour. She retired in 2004 as President/CEO of Kimberly Clark Credit Union in Memphis. During her 23 years at Kimberly Clark Credit Union, assets grew from $11 million to $73 million, and members increased from 3,000 to 10,000. Sara’s leadership helped to not only position her credit union, but many others on the cutting edge. As a charter member of shared branching in Tennessee, she was instrumental in bringing the shared branching system to Tennessee and a pioneer in adding share draft accounts to credit union services.

Serving for over 34 years, Mr. Bruce Runyan is a dedicated board member for Ascend Federal Credit Union. Like all of Ascend Federal Credit Union’s board members, Mr. Runyan is a faithful and tireless servant in his completely voluntary, unpaid position. Through regular attendance at board meetings, numerous committee meetings, and the annual strategic planning session, his service has been vitally important to the purpose, mission, and vision of a credit union which serves more than 144,000 members from 16 locations. The long list of educational opportunities and programs Mr. Runyan has pursued includes annual attendance at the Tennessee Credit Union League’s Annual Meeting, CUNA’s Governmental Affairs Conference, CUNA’s Volunteer Leadership Institute, and CUNA’s Volunteer Achievement Program.

For 36 years, Ms. Jimmie Bearden guided the growth and expansion of AEDC FCU, now Ascend FCU, as the CEO. Jimmie’s credit union career spanned almost 50 years, beginning as a clerk in 1956 and becoming CEO in 1968. As CEO, Jimmie implemented checking accounts, offered mortgage loans, IRAs, ATMs, and opened branches on Saturdays. All of these services, which are now considered standard offerings in many credit unions, were pivotal in the growth of AEDC FCU. Active in the movement, Bearden served on numerous National Association of Federal Credit Unions (NAFCU) committees and was awarded NAFCU’s Professional of the Year Award in 1991. Sadly, Ms. Bearden passed in October, 2010.


Pictured left to right, Kimberly Clark CU board chairman, Milton Ward; Vol Corp President, Rick Veach; son of the late Jimmie Bearden, Richard Bearden; Bruce Runyan; Sara Broxterman; and League President, Fred Robinson.




Dickie Johnson, Electric Service Credit Union

Blake Strickland, Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union



Rick Veach, President/CEO Volunteer Corporate Credit Union; Dickie Johnson; Blake Strickland; and Fred Robinson, President/CEO Tennessee Credit Union League



Thomas F. Gaines, III, Tennessee Credit Union League

John McKittrick, ORNL Federal Credit Union

Paul C. Monk, Clinchfield Federal Credit Union

William “Bill” and Alice Jenkins, Rohm and Haas Employees CU
Hardie Phipps, Kennedy VA Employees FCU
Sandy Lingerfelt, Clinchfield FCU


Dr. W. Craig Esrael, First South Credit Union

Milton Ward, Kimberly-Clark Credit Union

Honorable Mention:

2016 Becca Montgomery

2015 E. Odell Smith
2015 James Marvin McBe

2013 Caren Gabriel
2013 Lin Winkler
2013 Cyrus Eddie Hays

2012 Eleanor Crow

2010 Ken Swann

Tennessee Credit Union League
P.O. Box 21550
Chattanooga, TN  37424-0550
Phone: 423-899-2425  or  800-572-7359
FAX: 423-899-8726
Contact Us
Official Web Site of the
Tennessee Credit Union League
Read our web site privacy policy.