Close this search box.

Appalachian Community FCU wins Louise Herring Award

CUNA’s National Awards Committee recently selected the recipients of the 2016 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education.  The awards, which are given in several credit union asset sizes, were selected among the winning entries at a league level.

The first place winner in the $50 million to $250 million asset size category for the Louise Herring Award is Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union in Gray, TN.

“On behalf of the CUNA Awards Committee, I would like to congratulate all of the 2016 CUNA Award winners,” said Winona Nava, CUNA Awards Committee Chair. “We had an impressive number of submissions this year and the quality of the program submissions once again impressed the committee with the ideas and projects credit unions have put in place in their communities. Please join the committee in congratulating this year’s winners and remember: It’s never too early to start thinking about submitting your own entry for 2017.”

Winning credit unions will be recognized at the 2017 CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference, held February 26 – March 2, in Washington, DC.  If you or your credit union is in interested in submitting awards for 2017 – please visit to learn more.

[x_alert heading=”About CUNA” type=”success”]With its network of affiliated state credit union leagues, Credit Union National Association (CUNA) serves America’s credit unions, which are owned by more than 100 million consumer members. Credit unions are not-for-profit cooperatives providing affordable financial services to people from all walks of life. For more information about CUNA, visit or follow @CUNA on Twitter. For more information about credit unions, visit and follow @asmarterchoice on Twitter.[/x_alert]

Print Friendly and PDF