Close this search box.

Congratulations to the 2024 SRCUS Graduates

June 26, 2024 (Athens, GA) – The Southeastern Regional Credit Union School (SRCUS) is pleased to announce that 42 distinguished credit union executives graduated on June 21 from Southeast Management School after successful completion of the three-year program on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, Georgia.

For over 50 years, Southeast Management School has trained graduates to tackle leadership challenges in the credit union industry. The curriculum enhances operational, managerial, and leadership skills through advanced academic instruction. Students apply this knowledge to strategic projects for their credit unions, addressing industry issues. They also develop debate and presentation skills, and a deep understanding of the credit union philosophy to contribute to their credit unions’ success.

During the ceremony, which streamed live on Facebook, graduates heard reflections and words of inspiration respectively from 2nd and 3rd year class leaders, Marlena Gannon-Frament of Marine FCU and Brad Ballentine of SAFE FCU, as well as SRCUS Academic Advisor Dr. Craig Piercy.

“The networks we have built [are] invaluable and will serve as a strong foundation as we continue our careers in the credit union movement,” shared Gannon-Frament. “As we move forward, let’s carry the lessons learned … during our time at SRCUS. Let us be advocates for our members, champions of ethical practices, and pioneers of financial innovations.”

Ballentine echoed Gannon-Frament’s sentiments while also thanking SRCUS staff for all they do “to make sure this school remains relevant in our ever-changing industry.”

“Although I’m not sad about graduating, it is a little weird knowing we won’t be here together next year,” said Ballentine. “However, we will continue to help each other … take back what we learned to improve our credit unions to better serve our members … keep celebrating each other’s successes … and keep our eyes open for the next generation of leaders so we can give them the same opportunities that were afforded to us.”

In addition to completing the rigorous curriculum, testing to earn credits through the American Council on Education (ACE) and the Certified Credit Union Executive (CCUE) designation was introduced this year. First-year students completed testing on year one curriculum while second-year students and 2024 graduates have the option to take a cumulative test this summer. ACE recognizes nine continuing education credits upon completion of SRCUS.

Piercy spoke to the momentous success of all the students during the ceremony, especially the Class of 2024, saying, “You’ve worked tirelessly … taken your courses seriously … and demonstrated an unparalleled spirit of cooperation and collaboration. “Your dedication and commitment have not only earned you these diplomas but have also prepared you to face the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.”

Graduation from Southeast Management School is recognized throughout the credit union industry as a prestigious mark of achievement. Upon successful completion of the program, students receive a graduation diploma issued in collaboration with the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education. For more information on Southeast Management School, visit

Grouped by credit union association, the SRCUS Class of 2024 includes:

Tennessee Credit Union League

(Fred Robinson, President/CEO)
  • Caroline Bays, Tennessee Credit Union League, TN
  • Denise Chapman, Kimberly Clark CU, TN
  • Stephen Cutshall, Consumer CU, TN
  • Jessica Grostic, Copper Basin FCU, TN
  • Christopher Hagans, ORNL FCU, TN
  • Lauren Smith, Enrichment FCU, TN

Carolinas Credit Union League

(Dan Schline, President/CEO)
  • Shannon Austin, Oteen VA FCU, NC
  • Mandy Baibak, SAFE FCU, SC
  • Brad Ballentine,SAFE FCU, SC
  • Lana Darling, South Carolina FCU, SC
  • Rachel Dunn, South Carolina FCU, SC
  • Kenneth Pooley, Palmetto Citizens FCU, SC
  • Maggie Prohs, Palmetto Citizens FCU, SC
  • Heather Shafer, Marine FCU, NC
  • Angela Sprouse, Greenville Heritage FCU, SC
  • Sarah Stone, Excite CU, NC
  • Jennifer Webb, SAFE FCU, SC

Kentucky Credit Union League

(Jim Kasch, President/CEO)
  • Joseph Staff, The Health and Education FCU

League of Southeastern Credit Unions

(Samantha Beeler, President)
  • Cordell Donovan, Associated CU, GA
  • Chris Foy, Peach State FCU, GA
  • Mike Gibson, Credit Union of Georgia, GA
  • Johanna Gillispie, Go Energy Credit Union, GA
  • Julie Irvin, Georgia’s Own CU, GA
  • Wendy James, WinSouth CU, AL
  • Brad Kindsfather, First Choice CU, FL
  • Kevin Lucas, Georgia’s Own CU, GA
  • Mindy Maghupoy, The Infirmary FCU, AL
  • Nicole Maragh, Associated CU, GA
  • Rebecca Morris, LGE Community CU, GA
  • Tabitha Scarberry, New Horizons CU, AL
  • John Simpson, Peach State FCU, GA
  • Tiffany Washington, Alabama CU, AL
  • Frances Collene Wester, Alabama Teachers CU, AL

Louisiana Credit Union League

(Juan F. Ceballos, President/CEO)
  • Desiree Gary, Heart of Louisiana FCU, LA

Mississippi Credit Union Association

(Charles Elliott, President/CEO)
  • Matt Jackson, Singing River FCU, MS
  • Tori Shoemaker, 1st Mississippi FCU, MS
Print Friendly and PDF